London Urban Fantasy

BNHkl9YCMAIaL4o.jpg-large

I knew I’d seen it, here is proof of the existence of London Urban Fantasy from Jo Fletcher Books, @JoFletcherBooks. Quite rightly, grabbing people by the arm, Twitter-wise and dragging them over to point out The City’s Son by Tom Pollock alongside WILL SELF and NEIL GAIMAN. I’m an ex-typesetter, if I’ve broken out the bold formatting that means my excitement has overcome my professional ethics. I’m excited for Tom Pollock, who took great care in signing my copy (although we weren’t, as the background suggests, in a detritus-filled roof gutter at the time).

citysson_ferdypage02

But mainly I’m excited as a writer to look at a designated bookshelf in Waterstones with Will Self, Tom Pollock and Neil Gaiman on it that my book would fit on. So I’m feeling slottish again, my book wants to strut its stuff in front of a bookshelf like this with a friend nearby, exhorting, “Work it … wooorkkk it” as the sound of Richard Gere knackering his clutch filters in from the road outside.

Or shelvish, which is the same thing but with Lionel Bloom and pointed ears.

Leave a Reply

